Skip to main content
W73 Fairfield Pennyslvania
HomeClub Awards: Wilburn

Wilburn Award


Annually, the Wilburn Award is presented to a M-ASA member who has over many years voluntarily contributed well beyond club expectations as a tow pilot and/or flight instructor.  The intent of the award is to recognize and remember the small number of exceptional members who have demonstrated longstanding commitment in the essential areas of instruction and towing at M-ASA.  The Wilburn Award will only be presented when a highly deserving member who has not yet been recognized is identified. The award is named for the first recipient, Gene Wilburn, who received the award on March 24th, 2006.  Gene joined M-ASA in 1952 as a private pilot and earned his earned his private glider rating in 1959.  He willingly spent thousands of hours providing safe instruction and tows to M-ASA members.
 Wilburn Award Plaque

Past Wilburn Awardees


Year Awardee Remarks
 2020  David Weaver Instructor 2004 to present, Chief CFI-G 2015 to 2017
2019 Paul Rehm
Instructor since 2009
2018 Lance Nuckolls
Instructor, Chief Tow Pilot
2017 Wayne Elseth Tow Pilot since 2008. The "Internet Guy".
2016 Richard Horigan Tow Pilot since 1977. Glider Maintenance Officer since 1987.
2015 (None)
2014 Glenn Collins Instructor since 2000, tow pilot since 2004, Chief CFIG 2005-2014
2013 Catherine A. Williams Instructor since 1995
2012 Robert Jackson Tow pilot, instructor
2011 James E. Chick Tow Pilot since 1985, Maintenance Officer 1990-2008
2010 Robert H. Ball Tow Pilot since 1972
2009 Bernard "Bernie" Paiewonsky M-ASA Instructor since 1965
2008 John "Val" Brain Instructor since 1960, Chief CFI-G 1972-1998
2007 Vernon S. Chapin Tow Pilot 1970-1975, Instructor since 1970
2006* Gene M. Wilburn Tow Pilot/ Instructor since 1960

* Inaugural year of the Wilburn Award